Bible Study Magazine Review (Part 1)

Some time ago I was sent a free copy of the first issue of Bible Study Magazine if I would provide a review on my blog. After a busy holiday season, I have finally read most of the magazine articles and can give you my first thoughts on this new magazine.

The magazine’s statement of faith is the Apostle’s Creed. Unfortunately that is too minimal of a statement to determine orthodox belief in our post-modern world. Please understand that I’m fine with the creed, but it says nothing about a substitutionary atonement. But I understand that they wanted to be minimalists with the magazine. I guess my biggest gripe is that there is no statement on the inerrancy of the scriptures. I understand that authors and interviews may be conducted with those that differ, but it would still be nice to see a magazine devoted to the study of the Bible committed as an editorial staff to presenting the scriptures as inerrant.

The ‘About Us’ on page 3 gives us a ‘mission statement’ stating: “dedicated to providing readers with tools and methods for Bible study as well as insights from respected Bible teachers, professors, historians, and archaeologists.” In the first magazine they have tried to provide this, but issue two has a promotion for a free mp3 from “Kutless” (a Christian rock band) as well as a downloadable article about the band’s study habits on the road. I’m not sure what category Kutless falls into: Bible teachers, professors, historians, or archaeologists? I could not care less about how a rock band studies the bible on the road. No connection there. Unfortunately it looks like the editors at Bible Study Magazine went off mission statement by issue two for the sake of promotion. But let’s get back to issue 1 and my review of it.

The article “Finding Time for God” by Jeannine Seery was pretty good. My wife struggled with many of these things when the children were young. On a side note, I now have a new goal for my blogging career: Jeannine is listed as “an expert blogger”. I’m not sure what qualifies one to be an “expert blogger”, but I want to be one.

The interview with Josh McDowell on “Defending the Bible” was excellent. It was great to read some of his tactics when trying to debate the post-modernist mindset. Also surprising was how he developed his speeches. This would be handy for a pastor to look over in situations where you were speaking to a public audience that was not your congregation. This article was well written and structured.

Let’s stop there with part one. I’ll return with a review of the rest of the mag at a later time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bible Study, Sermon Preparation

Leave a Reply

