Where We Are Headed

When I was young, there was a comedian who would say something like, “The Devil made me do it!” I was too young to remember much more about the sketches he did or if I thought that was funny. As Christians, we should know that “…each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire” (James 1.14 ESV).

But I am seeing a trend in our day that concerns me very much.

In their attempt to understand creation from a purely naturalistic standpoint, scientists are trying to attribute our actions directly to our DNA. In effect they are trying to explain away our sin as, “My DNA made me do it!” The good thing is that our God is the God of DNA. And what we are uncovering now, He has known from eternity past.

Regardless of our DNA, we are still accountable for our actions. Certainly God has “wired us all differently”. But regardless of our “wiring”, God has a standard of righteousness that none of us can fulfill. The answer is not to blame our DNA. The answer is Christ. In Him we stand complete and righteous. In Him the Law is fulfilled. Augustus Toplady wrote in one of His poems, “The terrors of law and of of God, with me can have nothing to do; My Savior’s obedience and blood hide all my transgressions from view.” Let us glory in Christ!

The entire poem by Augustus Toplady is below for your enjoyment.

Assurance of Faith
A debtor to mercy alone,
Of covenant mercy I sing;
Nor fear with thy righteousness on,
The terrors of law and of God
With me can have nothing to do;
My Savior’s obedience and blood
Hide all my transgressions from view.
The work which his goodness began,
The arm of his strength will complete;
His promise is, Yea and Amen,
And never was forfeited yet:
Things future, nor things that are now,
Not all things below nor above
Can make him his purpose forego,
Or sever my soul from his love.
My name from the palms of his hands
Eternity will not erase;
Impress’d on his heart it remains
In marks of indelible grace;
Yes, I to the end shall endure,
As sure as the earnest is giv’n;
More happy, but not more secure,
The glorified spirits in heav’n.
Explore posts in the same categories: Creation

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

